Channels

From SpinetiX Support Wiki

Jump to: navigation, search

Introduction

Cockpit Channels page

Cockpit Channels service offers the possibility to connect different cloud accounts, referred to as channels, to your Cockpit account in order to allow your SpinetiX players to get real-time access to your personal data in a secured manner.

Security is a fundamental element to consider when giving access to your personal data and we've created our data-driven widgets with that in mind. To ensure secure access and permission control, without exposing any user credentials, Cockpit must authorize any request for third-party data.

The following channels are currently supported: Google, Twitter, Flickr, Facebook, Instagram, Microsoft Azure, Yammer.

Connect account

When configuring a data-driven widget, you are usually guided to connect a new account directly from Elementi. If you want to add a channel directly from Cockpit, follow these steps:

  1. Log into your Cockpit account.
  2. Click the "Channels" link on the top menu.
  3. Click on the icon of the channel you want to link to your account.
    • You are being redirected to the provider’s own web site, where you authenticate yourself and then you confirm which permissions you give to the SpinetiX app.
    • Once you authorize the SpinetiX app to access your data on your behalf, you are redirected back to Cockpit.
  4. Done - you can find the new account on the channels list.

Reauthorize account

Third-party data providers are having different policies when it comes to reauthorizing the access to personal data. In most of the cases, Cockpit takes care of this reauthorization transparently. However, there are cases when that is not possible and your intervention is necessary - for instance if you are using double-factor authorization with your Office 365 account, you'll need to manually reauthorize the Microsoft channel every 14 days. In some cases, the provider might also reveal an expiration data, which is listed next to the channel.

To manually reauthorize an account, follow these steps:

  1. Log into your Cockpit account.
  2. Click the "Channels" link on the top menu.
  3. Find the account you want / need to reauthorize.
  4. Click the "Re-authorize" button.
    • You are being redirected to the provider’s own web site, where you authenticate yourself and then you confirm which permissions you give to the SpinetiX app.
    • Once you authorize the SpinetiX app to access your data on your behalf, you are redirected back to Cockpit.
Note Note:
Failing to reauthorize a channel will lead to data no longer showing on the screen, as the player will lose access to the data.

Disconnect account

At any time you can disconnect any third-party data provider account and thus prevent access to your data to all players registered into your account. To do that follow these steps:

  1. Log into your Cockpit account.
  2. Click the "Channels" link on the top menu.
  3. Find the account you want to disconnect.
  4. Click the "Disconnect" red button.
  5. Done - the channel is removed from the list and the players will stop showing data from that provider.

Security notes

Third-party data providers are using OAuth 2.0 protocol for authorization. Once you authorize the SpinetiX app to access your data on your behalf, the provider service generates a master app token, that is stored by Cockpit and later used to generate short-lived access tokens for the players. This is a security feature which guarantees that if one of the access access tokens is compromised in any way, it can’t be exploited after 15 minutes.
This page was last modified on 22 May 2019, at 19:29.