User roles

From SpinetiX Support Wiki

Jump to: navigation, search

Introduction

User roles feature allows transforming Elementi M / X into a CMS-like application, where different editing and publishing roles can be assigned to each user. There are three editing roles and three publishing roles, that can be freely combined, resulting in up to nine possible roles to use for different users within the same team / organization.

A typical example of using the "User roles" feature, is that of a restaurant where:

  • The manager needs to have full control over the content editing and publishing;
  • The chef only needs to edit the menu from time to time;
  • The staff need to publish different menus on the screens according to the time of the day, without being able to change the menu content.

Editing roles

The following editing roles are available:

Full control
The user has access to all editing features of Elementi. This is the default setting.
Edit mode
"User Properties" tab is showed in "Edit mode"
In this mode, the Elementi GUI is modified so that the user can only modify those parts of the content that were specifically marked by the content creator to be editable.
In the Browse panel, only the SVG files (e.g., layout, playlist, widget etc.) that were marked for editing are shown, along with the folders that are present on the path to the file, but not the other files included into the project. Exceptionally, any folder named "media" is showed and fully available to the user - this would allow the user to import new files into the project.
To edit a file marked for editing, double-click on its icon in Browse panel to open it; the "User Properties" tab is showed in the Edit panel, listing all the properties that the user can change.
The user cannot modify the position of the layer, nor any effects or layer formatting. The editing features are limited to:
  • text changes (content & formatting) - either directly in the Preview panel or by double-clicking on the text layer in the Edit panel (this opens the Edit Text dialog);
  • media changes - by dragging & dropping the media file from the Browse panel into the Preview panel or into the Edit panel. Note Note: The file must be located in a folder named "media".
Read only
The user is not allowed to modify any part of the content; only to preview it. The Edit panel is hidden and all the editing features of Preview panel are disabled.

Publishing roles

The following publishing roles are available:

  • Full control
    The user has access to all the publishing feature of Elementi. This is the default setting.
  • Limited
    The user can only publish to devices already associated with a certain project, without having the possibility to modify the publication list for that project.
  • Not available
    The user cannot publish any content to any devices.

How to

Set up a user role

User Roles dialog

To set a particular role for the current Elementi user, follow these steps:

  1. Click the Menu button on the toolbar and select "Settings" > "User Roles..." option. This opens the "User Roles" dialog.
  2. Select the editing role for the user from the dropdown field.
  3. Select the publishing role for the user from the dropdown field.
  4. Optionally, set a password to protect the user changing these roles afterwards.
  5. Click the "OK" button to apply the changes.

Create editable content for restricted users

Creating user properties
Note
Elementi M or Elementi X is required to create edit-restricted content.

As explained above, a user having the "Edit mode" role activated, can only modify those parts of the content that were specifically marked by the content creator to be editable (i.e. user properties).

To create editable content for users having the "Edit mode" role activated, follow these steps:

  1. Click the Menu button on the toolbar and select "Settings".
  2. Enable the "Edit User Properties" option.
  3. Open the project that will be used by restricted users.
  4. Open the SVG file (e.g., layout, playlist, widget etc.) which should be available to restricted users.
  5. Within the Edit panel, a column named "Edit" is available in front of each layout layer, playlist slide, or widget property.
  6. Click on the corresponding check-box to mark that layer / slide / property as editable by a restricted user.
  7. Go to the "User Properties" tab and find a new entry for the selected item. This is what the restricted user would see.
  8. Optionally, edit the auto-assigned name - for that, double-click over the name and enter a new one.
  9. Repeat the process for the rest of SVG files which should be available to restricted users.
  10. To allow the restricted user to import new files into the project, create one or more collections named "media" in the project.
  11. Click the "Save" button to apply the changes.

Video tutorials

This page was last modified on 18 November 2016, at 15:04.