System settings

From SpinetiX Support Wiki

Jump to: navigation, search

This page is related to the Control Center interface present on DiVA, HMP300 and HMP350 devices.

Description

Control Center - System

The System page of Control Center contains the most common configuration settings for DiVA, HMP300, and HMP350 players, grouped under the following sections:

  • Configuration Backup
    Generate an archive file (7z) containing the complete configuration of that player, as well as restore such a configuration backup.
    See the full article on Configuration backup feature.
  • Identity
    Configure the device name, which is used to identify the player within the web interface and within "Devices" view of Elementi. The device name can only contains ASCII characters, the hyphen (-) and the underscore (_).
  • Time Zone
    Configure the time zone of the player (by default, this is set to Zürich time zone) - this is important for content scheduling within the player web interface or within Elementi, as well as when displaying clock apps or clock widgets.
  • Date & Time
    Select between automatic time from the internet using public NTP servers, or manual date & time settings.
  • Hardware Settings
    Switch the shutdown temperature level between "Normal" to "Maximum". You can also find the internal board temperature of the device.
  • Saved Passwords
    Configure the credentials to be used by the player when accessing resources from remote servers requiring authentication.
  • Cockpit
    Configure whether the player is monitored by Cockpit.

Hardware Settings

System > Hardware Settings

Under this section, you can find the current internal board temperature of the device and you can switch the shutdown temperature level between "Normal" to "Maximum".

An internal temperature sensor monitors the device internal board temperature - note that this is not the external case temperature, nor the ambient temperature. See also the Operating environment page.

When the internal board temperature reaches the selected shutdown temperature level, the device shuts down in order to cool itself down; when the internal temperature has lowered below the threshold value, the device will automatically restart.

The shutdown temperature can be set to:

  • "Normal" (default value)
    This corresponds to a maximum of 55ºC / 131ºF of the internal temperature and is meant to prevent an injury when touching the player's external case.
  • "Maximum"
    This corresponds to a maximum of 70ºC / 158ºF and is meant to prevent any physical damage to the player's internal components. This is usually needed when the content is complex and / or the ambient temperature is above 30ºC / 86ºF - in this case, the external case should be handled with caution to avoid injury.
Setting the shutdown temperature to "Maximum" might have as result an external case temperature exceeding 50 °C / 120 °F and therefore, touching the player case might provoke an injury - you should handle the external case with caution!

Saved Passwords

Saved Passwords

"Saved Passwords" section allows the user to configure credentials to be used by the player when accessing resources from remote servers requiring authentication.

To add / modify the saved passwords, follow these steps:

  1. Enter the following information:
    • The server URI (it can also include a path on the server if different credentials are needed for different parts of the server).
    • The username & password.
    • The realm (optional - used to specify different credentials based on the realm returned by the server).
  2. If you need additional servers, click the "Add" button.
  3. Click the "Apply" button to save the credentials.

To remove credentials, simply click the orange cross icon next to the credentials set, and then click the "Apply" button.

Cockpit

From this section you can configure whether the player is monitored by Cockpit.

To add the player into Cockpit, click the "Monitor by Cockpit" button. If no Cockpit user account is detected, then you will be redirected to the Cockpit login screen; once logged, the player will be automatically added to your account.

After that, the following buttons are shown:

  • "Open in Cockpit" => opens a new browser window and loads the player dashboard.
  • "Stop Monitoring" => the player stops communicating with Cockpit.
This page was last modified on 12 August 2019, at 21:06.